First tank cycle

MBarr57

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby and have started to set up my first tank. I have been cycling the tank now for about a week and a half and have the below readings.

PH 8.4
Temp 76
Salinity 1.024
Ammonia 2.0 ppm (has been at this level for 3 days)
Nitrite 0.25 ppm( just started showing readings 2 days ago)
Nitrate 10ppm ( has been 0 for whole cycle)

My question is why am I showing nitrate levels starting to go up but no real increase in nitrite and stable ammonia? Is this normal for a tank cycle? Any help/advice on cycling a new tank would be great!

I am new to the hobby and have started to set up my first tank. I have been cycling the tank now for about a week and a half and have the below readings.

PH 8.4
Temp 76
Salinity 1.024
Ammonia 2.0 ppm (has been at this level for 3 days)
Nitrite 0.25 ppm( just started showing readings 2 days ago)
Nitrate 10ppm ( has been 0 for whole cycle)

My question is why am I showing nitrate levels starting to go up but no real increase in nitrite and stable ammonia? Is this normal for a tank cycle? Any help/advice on cycling a new tank would be great!

re: question: could definitely just be test accuracy, user error during tests (which happens to *many* people, even those doing test for years), etc. Who did the test? Even if it was the fish store, they don’t always get it right.

The really annoying answer here is probably the tried and true “give it time” and “be patient”. Man but those have made me grimace whenever they get said to me. :)

Did you use any live rock, live sand, live bacteria?

Welcome to reefing :)

Try adding in more beneficial bacteria to help with the process. Especially if you didn’t to start.

re: question: could definitely just be test accuracy, user error during tests (which happens to *many* people, even those doing test for years), etc. Who did the test? Even if it was the fish store, they don’t always get it right.